Multicultural Communication

communication

I personally feel that I communicate with people the same no matter what their background is. I by no means am trying to make myself seem as though I am a communication superstar, but I have had many experiences in my life that have made me realize that people are all people and should be treated with equity. There are of course words that I would not use with my grandmother in conversation that I say while talking to my husband. The difference is more about audience and purpose than it is culture.

One thing that I feel helps people be more effective communicators is being open minded during conversations.   I think that being open minded allows there to be an opportunity for people to learn and grow together. I learn daily from my students. There are some days that I learn more than others, but every day is a learning experience. Another strategy for effective communication is being aware of body language. In the past two weeks I have learned the importance of body language. I have known that I have to control my expressions during conversations, but I now realize I need to be more aware of my arms, legs and facial expressions. The third strategy that could be used is being a receptive listener. This would involve not listening for personal gain, but listening to create some kind of “bonding” moment. Making a connection with someone can help build confidence and trust between people. This trust will lead to more effective communication. There are many other ways to effectively communicate, but these are the three that I feel I implement most.

One thought on “Multicultural Communication

  1. Emma,
    I agree with that we have different remarks when discussing with our husbands compared to our grandparents. I am a firm believer that “it is not what you say, but how you say it.” We may come off as blunt when speaking with our friends and significant other but our attitudes are not as strong when speaking with our elders. The way I communicate with my grandmother, I would not typically use with my husband or friends. With the respect for my grandmother, I would never say half the things I say to my immediate family.
    -Nicole

    Like

Leave a comment